Strong Senate Team to Advance Tasmania's Interests


The Tasmanian Liberal Party today announced a strong Senate team to advance Tasmania’s interests at the next federal election.

The Senate team, which was chosen by a representative panel of 67 rank-and-file members of the Tasmanian Liberal Party, is as follows:

  1. Senator Jonno Duniam: Senator Duniam is the Assistant Minister for Forestry, Fisheries and Industry Development. He was elected to the Senate in 2016 and is Deputy Manager of Government Business in the Senate.
  2. Senator Wendy Askew: Senator Askew has served in the Senate since 2019. She is Chair of the Senate's Community Affairs Legislation Committee and Deputy Chair of the Community Affairs References Committee.
  3. Senator Eric Abetz: Senator Abetz has been a Senator for Tasmania since 1994. Over that period he has held a number of positions, including Cabinet Minister and Leader of the Government in the Senate from 2013-2016.

I look forward to working with this team and our other Senators Richard Colbeck and Claire Chandler, and House of Representatives Members Bridget Archer and Gavin Pearce, to secure the re-election of the Morrison Liberal Government.