An historic third consecutive majority Liberal Government


12 May 2020

An historic third consecutive majority Liberal Government

Statement from Stuart Smith, State Director, Liberal Party of Australia (Tasmanian Division):

Tasmanian voters have decisively endorsed Peter Gutwein to lead an historic third consecutive majority Liberal Government.

Following today’s distribution of preferences, the Tasmanian Electoral Commission has confirmed that Elise Archer and Madeleine Ogilvie have both been elected as Liberal Members for Clark. This means that the Liberal Party will again have a majority of 13 seats in the House of Assembly.

Tasmanians have made it clear that want a stable majority Gutwein Liberal Government getting on with the job – not the back-room factional antics and horse-trading offered by opposing candidates.

This is the first time ever that the Tasmanian Liberals have won government three times in a row, which is a fantastic testament to the hard work of Premier Peter Gutwein and his team.

Congratulations to Elise Archer on her re-election and for her leadership as Liberal Member for Clark since 2010. Congratulations also to Madeleine Ogilvie on being returned to the House of Assembly, now as the new Liberal Member for Clark. We are very pleased to have Madeleine joining us as part of the Liberal team in the new Parliament.

Thank you also to Simon Behrakis, Will Coats and Harvey Lennon for standing as Liberal candidates. Although they were not elected, their efforts were instrumental in delivering a strong result. Simon Behrakis in particular is thanked for his very hard work, without which we would have not won majority Government.

The Tasmanian Liberals look forward to delivering on our plan to Secure Tasmania’s Future, with a key focus on keeping our economy strong, creating jobs, delivering healthcare improvements in all areas of the State, and delivering transformational infrastructure for the future.