Tasmanian Liberal Government Ministry


Today I am announcing a new majority Liberal Government Ministry, to continue the job of delivering our plan to secure Tasmania’s future.

The changes to Cabinet are necessary following the resignation of my former colleague and friend, Sarah Courtney this time last week. I again wish Sarah all the best and thank her for her service to Tasmania.

Importantly, the Governments agenda is progressing and Tasmania is in a strong position so I don’t see the need for wholesale changes, but there is obviously the need for a new Minister and associated portfolio changes.

So, I am pleased to announce today that Nic Street will be appointed as the new member of Cabinet.

Nic is an experienced Member of Parliament who was first elected in 2016, has been a strong and hard-working member within his Franklin electorate, and has served more recently very effectively in our Parliament as Deputy Speaker.

He has served at the Local Government level as a Kingborough Councillor, he’s been a small business operator, has long associations with community sporting organisations, and has also been a small business Ministerial Adviser.

Nic is hardworking and a grassroots advocate for Tasmanians, with a strong focus on healthy, thriving communities and the opportunities we can grasp to make this happen.

Nic will be taking on the portfolios of Minister for Sport and Recreation, Minister for Community Services and Development, Minister for Science and Technology, and Minister for Heritage.

I’d like to congratulate Nic and welcome him to our Cabinet team.

In regards to other portfolios, as Premier I will retain the Treasury portfolio.

However, now that Tasmania safely transitioning to life with COVID-19, and visitors returning to our State, I will once again be the responsible Minister for Tourism and also for Climate Change.

Deputy Premier, Jeremy Rockliff, will continue as Minister for Health, Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing, and Minister for Advanced Manufacturing and Defence Industries.

To enable him more opportunity to focus specifically on the health portfolio, especially as we transition through to living with COVID, his role as Community Services and Development Minister will be allocated to Minister Nic Street.

Given the substantial investment the Government is making across health in every region, it is critical Minister Rockliff has the dedicated time to invest in this, and I know how committed he is to improving Tasmania’s health system.

In regard to education, I’m pleased to confirm today that experienced Minister Roger Jaensch, will take on the new combined Ministerial portfolio of Education, Children and Youth, as well as the Minister for Skills, Training and Workforce Growth.

He will retain State Growth, which will complement Education and Skills and Training in relation to regional jobs growth and planning, as well as Aboriginal Affairs.

He will also retain the Environment portfolio.

Michael Ferguson remains the Leader of Government Business in the House and retains his portfolios for State Development, Construction and Housing, Infrastructure and Transport, as well as Finance.

Minister Ferguson will also now be responsible for Local Government and Planning.

These portfolios will all complement each other and I know that Minister Ferguson will acquit himself very well.

Jane Howlett retains the portfolios of Small Business, Women, Racing and in addition will take on the Ministerial responsibilities for Hospitality and Events, as well as Disability Services.

Three Ministers will have no changes to their portfolios

Elise Archer will continue her strong work as Attorney General, and will continue with her portfolios of Justice, Corrections, Workplace Safety and Consumer Affairs, and the Arts.

Minister Barnett retains Trade, Primary Industries and Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction, Resources, and Veterans’ Affairs.

Jacquie Petrusma retains her current portfolios of Police, Fire and Emergency Management, Prevention of Family Violence and Parks.

Mark Shelton remains Speaker of the House of Assembly, while I intend to nominate Madeleine Ogilvie to take on additional responsibility in the role of Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees.

John Tucker remains Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier and Felix Ellis will now also hold that role, helping to support initiatives that make a difference to local communities.

I want to acknowledge and thank my entire team, including legislative council members Leonie Hiscutt, Jo Palmer and Nick Duigan.

Leonie will continue her very important work as Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council and will be supported by Jo Palmer as Deputy Leader.

The past two years have not been without their challenges as we have navigated through COVID, but we are in a good position.

Tasmania’s economy leads the nation, and we have a strong pipeline of work ahead of us which is delivering better outcomes for every region in Tasmania – in housing, education and health, renewable energy, tourism and hospitality, and across our primary industries, resources, and advanced manufacturing sectors.

We are in a unique position to grasp the opportunities ahead, and as a strong, united majority Liberal Government, we look forward to delivering for Tasmanians and continuing the work we are doing to secure our state’s future.

The Ministry will be sworn in at Government House shortly.